So… I haven’t been updating my blog (mostly because nothing interesting has happened)–SORRY!

 

We had a long memorial weekend (I needed it) and I decided to make the best of it by staying in. So the weekend  was relatively low key. I did go to the rodeo, and let me tell you. There are a lot of things that I’ll give New Mexico–but rodeoing isn’t one of them. It was ok, but nothing compared to what rodeo is in Texas. I like all the flashy-ness of the “show” and the heat from sitting in the bleachers. This one was inside (I know, we have inside rodeos in Texas, too-but still), and only lasted like 2 hours. What’s up with that?? But it was a good reason to get out of the room on a Saturday night. 🙂 I’m glad I went. I’m glad I didn’t get ALL decked out in my rodeo gear, because apparently New Mexico doesn’t do that either. Ha. Crazy New Mexicans.

Sunday was just a chill day. Nothing to write home about. But MONDAY (today) a couple of friends and I went to Carlsbad Caverns a few hours away. It was so much fun! This place is seriously ridiculous. The land on our way was flat, but when we got near Carlsbad, there were canyons everywhere. It was awesome and a great sight for this east-central Texas raised girl. We drove up the canyon, and finally arrived at the park. We could see for miles and miles up there and I have to say, I was impressed. New Mexico’s “land of enchantment” thing is finally wearing off on me, I’m afraid. It’s beautiful here (just dry :P). We made our way to the visitors center and got our tickets for the cavern. We opted to hike the 1.5 down instead of taking the elevators, which I’m glad we did–we saw a lot on the way down. People who take the elevator miss out. There were these old old ladders that they used in the old days to explore the cave on the sides of walls. I love seeing that kind of history–so cool. We finally made it to the bottom and hiked the ~2 mile big room. Words nor pictures can do the cavern justice. It’s my firm belief that everyone should see it before they die. It should be one of the 7 wonders. It’s that impressive. To see the size and all the intricate “natural” forms in that magnitude was unbelievable. I posted a few pictures in my “plows, cows, and lots of dust” album, so feel free to check them out, but just know that there was no way to actually show the awesomeness of this place.

Tomorrow starts another (short) week at the Consortium. I can’t believe we’re already on our third week here! It’s going by so fast.

 

XOXO Loves!

 

